Every child - and every staff member - who joins St John's is assigned one of our four school houses.

We believe this sense of belonging, shared goals, and responsibility to their housemates is an important part of a child's development and growth.

Our School Houses - Cavell, Fry, Owen, and Shaftesbury

Our four houses have been used throughout the school's modern history and are based upon the best characteristics of the people after which they are named. You can click on the badges for more information about them.

Edith Cavell (1865-1915) was a nurse in WWI.

In Cavell, we believe in showing compassion, caring for others and being courageous.

You can find out more about the difference that Edith Cavell made by clicking here.

Elizabeth Fry (1780-1845) was a social reformer and philanthropist.

Our ethos in Fry is one of fairness, supporting others and inspiring all to overcome challenges.

Elizabeth Fry helped bring about change in prisons and in supporting people who were homeless. You can find out more here.

Robert Owen (1771-1858) was a businessman & philanthropist.

In Owen, our ethos is to create opportunity by encouraging growth & ambition.

Robert Owen made a difference not just to stopping children from working in factories, but in improving industries across the world. You can find out more here.

The 7th Earl of Shaftesbury (1801-1885) was a politician and social reformer.

Shaftesbury house stands up for the rights of others and believe in equality. 

Lord Shaftesbury set up over 100 schools for children and helped end child labour in our country. There's a short dramatisation video about him here.